Changing the Guard

Buckingham Palace Guards

Changing the Guard at Buckingham Palace encompasses colourful spectacle and British pageantry. The ceremony lasts about 45 minutes and usually takes place daily at 11:30 from April until the end of July and on alternate days for the rest of the year, weather permitting. Please see the provisional schedule below.

The privilege of guarding the Sovereign traditionally belongs to the Household Troops, better known as ‘the Guards’, who have carried out this duty since 1660. For operational and other reasons, this privilege is periodically extended to other regiments of the British Army. The Guards consist of five infantry regiments - the Grenadier, Coldstream, Scots, Irish and Welsh Guards - and two regiments of the Household Cavalry – the Life Guards and Blues and Royals. Most of the Guards will have seen action overseas.

During the Changing the Guard ceremony, also known as ‘Guard Mounting’, one regiment takes over from another. The Queen’s Guard consists of the St James’s Palace and Buckingham Palace detachments. The New Guard, who during the course of the ceremony become The Queen’s Guard, march to Buckingham Palace from Wellington Barracks.

Find out more about the ceremony with the Changing the Guard at Buckingham Palace app, which is priced at 69p and is available for download here.

Provisional Schedule

August 2016 - March 2017 Alternate days. For more detailed schedules see the British Army website. Please note that this schedule is set by the British Army and is subject to change. 

Buckingham Palace: Official Souvenir Guide

Buckingham Palace Official Souvenir Guide