The Art of Monarchy

The Royal Collection has collaborated with BBC Radio 4 to mark Her Majesty The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

An eight-part series, The Art of Monarchy, illuminates the long history of the Monarchy through the works of art acquired by British kings and queens.

The programmes present objects from Balmoral Castle in Scotland to the Royal Library at Windsor; and from the State Rooms of Buckingham Palace to Osborne House on the Isle of Wight. These objects  illustrate such diverse themes as faith, progress, war and legacy.


To listen to The Art of Monarchy series, please visit BBC Radio 4.

Learning resources to accompany the series have been developed in partnership with BBC Schools for key stages 1, 2 and 3. Teacher's resources can be accessed via the BBC's Famous People website, while additional online activities for children are available at BBC Primary History

To coincide with the Art of Monarchy, the Radio 4 blog is running a series of posts by Royal Collection curators. These can be accessed via the links below or directly on the Radio 4 and 4 Extra blog:

Kate Heard discusses the task of portraying royalty
Kit Maxwell explores porcelain in the Royal Collection
Rufus Bird looks at royal art in context
Anna Reynolds enjoys an audience with the Spanish Infantas

Elizabeth Clark examines an inscription by Queen Elizabeth I