What's on

Family Activities: Animal Kingdom

Saturday, 15 February 2014 to Sunday, 23 February 2014
Palace of Holyroodhouse

Visit the Palace of Holyroodhouse during the February half term holidays and search for the animals that adorn this amazing building.... Read more about Family Activities: Animal Kingdom

Free Admission on St Andrew's Day

Saturday, 30 November 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Queen's Gallery, Edinburgh

To celebrate St Andrew's Day, admission to the Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Queen's Gallery, Palace of Holyroodhouse, is free on 30 November.

During the day there will be a host of activities for the whole family to enjoy:... Read more about Free Admission on St Andrew's Day

Christmas at the Palace of Holyroodhouse

Monday, 25 November 2013 to Tuesday, 31 December 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

To mark the start of the festive season, 12ft imitation Christmas trees decorated with purple and gold baubles, garlands and thistles will be on display in the Royal Dining Room, Throne Room, Morning Drawing Room and the Great Gallery.  The table in... Read more about Christmas at the Palace of Holyroodhouse

Family Activities: The Big Draw

Saturday, 12 October 2013 to Sunday, 3 November 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

The Big Draw at the Palace of Holyroodhouse... Read more about Family Activities: The Big Draw

Storytelling at the Palace

Saturday, 10 August 2013 to Saturday, 24 August 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

Sessions run in August on Saturday 10th, Friday 23rd and Saturday 24th... Read more about Storytelling at the Palace

Behind the Ropes

Sunday, 4 August 2013 to Sunday, 25 August 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

Sessions run on Sundays throughout August... Read more about Behind the Ropes

Hands on History

Tuesday, 9 July 2013 to Wednesday, 28 August 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

Sessions run on Tuesday and Wednesday throughout July and August

(except 2 - 3 July)... Read more about Hands on History

Explore the Palace Gardens

Sunday, 7 July 2013 to Saturday, 31 August 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

The Palace Gardens are a hidden secret in Edinburgh’s busy city centre. Use our family trail to explore woodland paths and giant lawns. Look out for local wildlife and the mysterious golden rabbit. Find out why a lion used to live here, what happens... Read more about Explore the Palace Gardens

Francois Clouet, Mary, Queen of Scots, c.1558

Family Tree Fun

Sunday, 10 February 2013 to Sunday, 17 February 2013
Palace of Holyroodhouse

The Palace of Holyroodhouse has been a royal home for over 500 years.  Become a family tree detective this February half term and find out about the famous families who have lived here. Look for the missing members of the royal family tree as you... Read more about Family Tree Fun

Family Activities: The Victorians – hands on history

Wednesday, 8 August 2012
Palace of Holyroodhouse

From ink pots to candle stick holders – explore some of our Victorian objects and find out about life at the Palace during Queen Victoria’s reign in this ‘hands on history’ drop-in session

Suitable for children aged 5+... Read more about Family Activities: The Victorians – hands on history

Pages