Annual summer opening of Frogmore House and Garden

The summer opening of Frogmore House and Garden offers the chance to discover a delightful royal retreat. The house and garden will open to the public for three Charity Garden Open Days in May and during the Bank Holiday weekend in August.  Private daytime and evening tours for
pre-booked coach groups are also available during August and September. 

At the heart of the magnificent private Home Park of Windsor Castle, Frogmore House has been a favourite royal retreat for more than 300 years.  The beautiful setting inspired Queen Victoria to write ‘All is peace and quiet and you only hear the hum of the bees, the singing of the birds’.  Built in the 17th century, the house became royal property when it was purchased for George III’s consort, Queen Charlotte in 1792.  It is no longer an occupied royal residence, but is frequently used by the Royal Family for private entertaining.

The interests and talents of several generations of the royal family influenced Frogmore’s interior.  In particular, Queen Charlotte’s passion for botany is reflected in the decoration of the house. She commissioned
Mary Moser, the renowned 18th-century flower painter, to decorate one of Frogmore’s principal rooms to resemble an arbour open to the skies. The Cross Gallery, which spans the entire breadth of the building, was painted with garlands by Princess Elizabeth, the daughter of George III and
Queen Charlotte.
 
Frogmore was lived in by Victoria, Duchess of Kent for almost 20 years, and works by her and by her daughter Queen Victoria are on display in the house. Queen Victoria often visited Frogmore during her long widowhood and would work on her papers there.  Watercolours by her daughters, the Princesses Victoria and Louise, can also be seen in the house.

One of Frogmore’s enduring attractions is its tranquil garden. Based on a model ‘picturesque’ landscape, it was first laid out in the 1790s for
Queen Charlotte with 4,000 new shrubs and trees.  Garden features, including a Gothic Ruin, were added shortly afterwards. The design and planting schemes seen today incorporate additions made during
Queen Victoria’s reign, and, in the 20th century, by Queen Mary and
Her Majesty The Queen.  Visitors can enjoy gentle garden walks and views of Queen Victoria’s Tea  House,  the  white-marble  Indian  Kiosk  and  the 18th-century lake.

Frogmore House and Garden are open on 26, 27 and 28 May (Charity Garden Open Days) and on 29, 30 and 31 August, 10:00-17:30 (last admission 16:00). For admission details, please visit www.royalcollection.org.uk or telephone 020 7766 7305.

Private tours of Frogmore House for pre-booked coach groups are available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays in August and September (10:00-15:00).  Also available are private evening tours for pre-booked coach groups, which offer the opportunity to enjoy Frogmore on a summer’s evening For information about group visits, please telephone 020 7766 7305 or e-mail groupbookings@royalcollection.org.uk

 


Further information and photographs are available from Public Relations and Marketing, the Royal Collection, 020 7839 1377, press@royalcollection.org.uk. Images are also available from the Royal Collection’s folder in the ‘Companies Available’ section on PA’s Picselect at www.picselect.com.

Date: 
Tuesday, 10 February 2009