Windsor

New Publication - The Queen’s Dolls’ House

Friday, 16 October 2009

The largest, most beautiful and most famous dolls’ house in the world is the subject of a charming new publication, The Queen’s Dolls’ House.  The well-known broadcaster and architectural historian Lucinda Lambton guides the reader on an imaginative tour of this perfect replica in miniature of an aristocratic home.  The Queen’s Dolls’ House is on permanent display at Windsor and is one of the Castle’s most popular attractions.

Built for Queen Mary by the leading British architect Sir Edwin Lutyens between 1921 and 1924, the Dolls’ House includes contributions from over 1,500 of the finest artists, craftsmen and manufacturers of the early 20th century.  It even has a garden designed by Gertrude Jekyll and a resident snail.  

From life below stairs to the high-society setting of the saloon and dining room, no detail was forgotten.  There is a library bursting with original works by the top literary names of the day, such as Thomas Hardy and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  The cellar is full of tiny bottles, each containing a thimbleful of the finest wine.  The Queen’s Dolls’ House is even equipped with electricity, hot and cold water, and working lifts.

The book is lavishly illustrated throughout, so that readers can explore every corner of this magical residence.

The Queen’s Dolls’ House is available from the Royal Collection’s online shop, Royal Collection shops at Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse, and all good bookshops.

Price £12.95 hardback.  132 pages and over 220 colour illustrations. ISBN 978-1-905686-26-1

 

You may also be interested in...