London
The Queen's Gallery, Buckingham Palace
The Northern Renaissance: Dürer to Holbein

Adult events

Art of the Northern Renaissance was prized for its beauty, the skill of the makers and for the status it conferred.

Discover the stories behind these works of art, the connections across national boundaries and how art was used to consolidate status and power, with this series of free short talks, afternoon lectures, concert and drawing class.

Follow the links below for further details and to book tickets for all events surrounding the Northern Renaissance: Dürer to Holbein:

Concert

A Musical Renaissance
Wednesday, 7 March 2012, 19:00 - 20:30
Stile Antico performs a programme of glorious Renaissance polyphony devised especially to complement the exhibition.

Courses

Drawing with Holbein
Saturday, 2 March to Sunday, 3 March 2013, 10:00 - 17:00

Life Drawing at The Queen's Gallery
Saturday, 16 March and Saturday, 23 March 2013, 10:00 - 17:00

Lectures

Politics, religion and culture explored through two Renaissance tapestries
Wednesday, 28 November 2012, 15:00-16:00

Drawing in the Northern Renaissance
Wednesday, 13 February 2013, 15:00-16:00

'Properly and newly built': The changing face of the Renaissance residence
Wednesday, 27 February 2013, 15:00-16:00

Art without frontiers: Connections and cross currents in Northern Europe
Wednesday, 13 March 2013, 15:00-16:00 

10-Minute Talks

Join Royal Collection experts for this series of free 10-minute talks exploring pairs of complementary or contrasting works of art from the exhibition.

Talks are scheduled at 12:00 and are repeated at 15:00 on the following dates:

Dürer as a draughtsman and printmaker
Thursday, 15 November 2012
Kate Heard, Curator of Prints and Drawings, Royal Collection Trust

Landscape into art: Dark forests, gods and miracles
Thursday, 22 November 2012
Lucy Whitaker, Senior Curator of Paintings, Royal Collection Trust

Dürer and the art of the goldsmith
Thursday, 29 November 2012
Kathryn Jones, Curator of Decorative Arts, Royal Collection Trust

Beauty and menace
Thursday, 6 December 2012
Simon Metcalf, Armourer, Royal Collection Trust

Dürer’s greyhound: From drawing to print
Thursday, 17 January 2013
Alan Donnithorne, Head of Paper Conservation, Royal Collection Trust

Grand designs: The publishing projects of Maximilian
Thursday, 24 January 2013
Emma Stuart, Curator of Books and Manuscripts, Royal Collection Trust

Moveable feasts: Two magnificent early 16th century tapestries
Thursday, 31 January 2013
Caroline de Guitaut, Curator of Decorative Arts, Royal Collection Trust

Approaches to portraiture
Thursday, 7 February 2013
Jennifer Scott, Curator of Pictures, Royal Collection Trust

Perfect Partners?
Thursday, 14 February 2013
Kate Heard, Curator of Prints and Drawings, Royal Collection Trust

Cellini’s bronze satyr and Leonardo’s costume design
Thursday, 21 February 2013
Lauren Porter, Print Room Assistant, Royal Collection Trust

Death meets everyday life in Bruegel and Heemskerk
Thursday, 28 February 2013
Lucy Whitaker, Senior Curator of Paintings, Royal Collection Trust

Intimate Portraits: The birth of a new art form
Thursday, 7 March 2013
Vanessa Remington, Curator of Paintings, Royal Collection Trust

Fidei Defensor - Henry VIII and the Reformation in Europe
Thuirsday, 14 March 2013
Emma Stuart, Curator of Books and Manuscripts, Royal Collection Trust

Religious Stories
Thursday, 21 March
Jennifer Scott, Curator of Paintings, Royal Collection Trust

Before and after: The cleaning and restoration of Holbein's portrait of Hans of Antwerp
Thursday, 28 March
Claire Chorley, Paintings Conservator, Royal Collection Trust