Royal Collection Trust/© Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 2014
Lesser George known as 'The Stuart George'
The floral-style ornament and the colours of the enamel on the reverse of the badge recall mid-seventeenth century French designs. The type of object, however, makes an English provenance and a date around 1661 more likely.
It is not known when the badge entered the Royal Collection. However, it may be identified with the ‘ancient Cameo Badge of Garter, enamelled back’ listed at Windsor Castle in the inventory of 1830, the ‘ancient Onyx George, raised flowers etc enamelled back’ listed in 1837 and the ‘ancient Onyx George raised flowers & enameled [sic] at back’ listed in 1838.
Text adapted from Ancient and Modern Gems and Jewels in the Collection of Her Majesty The Queen, London, 2008